# **Cayman Islands**

**Basic facts** 

Population: 55,691 (2013 estimate) Land area: 264 km<sup>2</sup> Exclusive economic zone: 119,137 km<sup>2</sup>

### Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

The **Cayman Islands** has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territory since 1946, following the declaration of the intention by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to transmit information on **Jamaica** (under which the Cayman Islands had fallen) under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations. *See*: General Assembly resolution <u>66 (I)</u> of 14 December 1946

#### Administering Power

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

#### United Nations-related action

The General Assembly adopts on an annual basis a resolution with a section specifically devoted to the Cayman Islands. See: General Assembly resolution  $\underline{69/105 \text{ A-B}}$  of 5 December 2014

Most recent United Nations Secretariat annual Working Paper on the Cayman Islands: <u>A/AC.109/2015/8</u>

## Links

Government of the Cayman Islands

Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland